Duluth Valley of the Scottish Rite:
Northern Minnesota's University of Freemasonry

What is the Scottish Rite?

The Scottish Rite is a Masonic organization that continues a Master Mason’s education of the first three degrees of Blue or Craft Lodge.  Masons are always looking for more light and the Scottish Rite serves as an extension on what Masons have learned in the first three degrees and builds upon those degrees to enhance and enrich a member's life.The Scottish Rite consists of the 4th through 32nd Degree and an honorary 33rd, which is awarded for exceptional service. 

Like the mystery schools of ancient times, the Scottish Rite degrees are rich in symbolism causing each mason to study, reflect, and deliberate on his own. The Scottish Rite of Freemasonry was chartered in Duluth on October 23, 1890. To this very day, the Duluth Valley Scottish Rite continues to be the University of Freemasonry for northern Minnesota. We welcome you and, no matter where you are on your path, we acknowledge that every brother is at different stages in their journey through life.

Join a Valley Near You     -      Petition the Duluth Valley

 Duluth Valley Scottish Rite; Northern Minnesota's University of Freemasonry

Is Freemasonry or the Scottish Rite a secret society?

Absolutely not, the Scottish Rite and other forms of Freemasonry operate very much in the open with many events open to the public. There are “modes of recognition” (passwords and handshakes) that represent a Mason’s ability to keep a promise.

Do I have to be Scottish to join the Scottish Rite?

No. The Scottish Rite degrees actually originated in France and were based on legends that came from Scotland, so “Scottish” is in name only.

How many people belong to the Scottish Rite?

There are about 2 million Masons in the United States and about 550,000 of those are Scottish Rite Masons.

The Scottish Rite Creed is

Human progress is our cause, liberty of thought our supreme wish, freedom of conscience our mission, and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.

The Mission of Scottish Rite is

It is the mission of the Scottish Rite of Freemasonry, SJ, to improve its members and enhance the communities in which they live by teaching and emulating the principles of Brotherly Love, Tolerance, Charity, and Truth while actively embracing high social, moral, and spiritual values including fellowship, compassion, and dedication to God, family and country.

What are Supreme Council, Orients, and Valleys?

The governing body of the Scottish Rite is the Supreme Council. It is composed of active and deputy members of the 35 states and several overseas jurisdictions that make up the Southern Jurisdiction. Each state or jurisdiction that belongs to the Southern Jurisdiction is called an Orient. The local Scottish Rite body is called a Valley. The Orient of Minnesota consists of four Valleys: Duluth, St. Paul, Minneapolis, and RochesterEach Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees.

In the Southern Jurisdiction these are:

Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
Chapter of Rose Croix (15°–18°)
Council of Kadosh (19°–30°)
Consistory (31°–32°).
The Supreme Council confers the 33rd Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

Learn more about the degrees in each Body by clicking the PORTALs below:

Lodge of Perfection (4  °  -14  °  ) PORTAL

Lodge of Perfection
°-14°) PORTAL

Chapter of Rose Croix (15  °  -18  °  )  PORTAL

Chapter of Rose Croix
°-18°)  PORTAL

Council of Kadosh (19  °  -30  °  ) PORTAL

Council of Kadosh
°-30°) PORTAL

Consistory (31  °  -32  °  ) PORTAL

°-32°) PORTAL

What is the official name of the Supreme Council?

The name of the Supreme Council reveals history, tradition, and accomplishment. The official, full name of this Supreme Council is: “The Supreme Council (Mother Council of the World) of the Inspectors General Knights Commander of the House of the Temple of Solomon of the Thirty-third degree of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry of the Southern Jurisdiction of the United States of America.” http://scottishrite.org/


What are the caps for?

If the apron is a badge of a Mason in Blue Lodge, the cap can be said to be the public badge of a Scottish Rite Mason. It is considered a part of the uniform and the different colors indicate the degree of the wearer: black – 32°, red – Kight Commander of the Court of Honor (KCCH), white – 33°.  

What do the Fourteenth Degree rings mean?

The Scottish Rite Fourteenth degree ring is a flat, plain band of gold, and embossed thereon is a plate in the form of an equilateral triangle and within the triangle is the Hebrew letter yud, the initial letters of Jehovah in Hebrew (yud he vau he). Inside the ring is inscribed the Fourteenth Degree Motto: Virtus Junxit, Mors Non Separabit (Virtue has united and death shall not separate). The rings circle expresses the unbreakable fraternal bond between Masons of all generations. Upon the death of the owner, the ring should go into the hands of his widow, eldest son, the friend who was loved above all others, or another Scottish Rite Mason.  

How do I join the Scottish Rite?

You must be a Master Mason in good standing in a regular lodge;
complete a petition and include the appropriate fee;
attend a “Reunion” or yearly class where the Scottish Rite Degrees are conferred.

Join a Valley Near You     -      Petition the Duluth Valley

See more of our History 

Source:  Supreme Council, Southern Jurisdiction

Duluth Valley of the Scottish Rite

a peaceful harbor and a well-grounded place to anchor.

4 W 2nd St Duluth, MN 55802
duluthsr@gmail.com (218)-722-2420